What is Astropoetry?

Earth as the “Pale Blue Dot,” part of the solar system “Family Portrait” taken by Voyager 1 on February 14, 1990. Credit: NASA/JPL

I ride
my question
out on a wave
or pulse
or rocket
to where sound
stops.

In the pitch
roll
yaw,
I untether it
from
the payload
of smaller
questions.

A yardang
or crater
or icy ring
on a dot
beyond my vision
becomes
an adequate
orientation
point.

Adrift on
this jetsam,
I am something
ignored,
a casual
observer
of giants–

every
ray
or force
or pull
sufficient
line
back to
where
I stood.

4 comments
    • Thanks, J.A., for your lovely comment! The gestalt shift is exactly what I’m going for (for myself as writer, too). So glad you enjoyed it.

  1. The picture, and the speech by Carl Sagan, always gives me goosebumps. This poem is a wonderful compliment to the “Pale Blue Dot!”

    • Thanks so much! I agree: the pic and Carl Sagan speech are in the truest sense of the word “awesome.” Really appreciate your comment.

Leave a Reply

