Curiosity

According to NASA MSL, “this view results from the first observation of a target selected autonomously by a spacecraft on Mars” (i.e., NASA’s Mars Exploration Rover Opportunity). Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/Cornell University

I sit in the sandbox
with the Matchbox car city
run by ants,

my fingers tracing a rille
void of lava or water or ice
through the main parking lot.

Though you may not see it,
this touch
means loss of separation

with the finite.

You can try
to stop me,

but I am already
ignoring
the obvious
limitations

including stones
and air

have connected
with everything

have become
a sinuous river

meandering through
valleys and lechs
past my allotted time.

7 comments
  1. oldwolfmcmlxiii said:

    One of your Greats ones 🙂

    • Thank you so much! Much appreciated. Will you have a chance to watch the Mars Curiosity landing tonight/tomorrow morning?

      • oldwolfmcmlxiii said:

        I’m working tomorrow so it looks like I’ll miss it miss it 😦

  2. This is a wonderful poem. I particularly like the end “past my allotted time.” It gives a feeling of the immortal to the desire to explore and to become one with the infinite.
    One Writer’s Mind

    • Thanks so much, J.A.! Really grateful for your comment. I’m glad to hear the final turn worked. When I stepped away from the poem, I thought it did, but I wasn’t entirely sure. Hearing your confidence that it works is marvelous. Thanks a bunch.

      • Another Winner 🙂

Leave a Reply

