lost the moon

A photo of Crater Chaplygin captured during the Apollo 13 mission.  Image credit: NASA.

A photo of Crater Chaplygin captured during the Apollo 13 mission. Image credit: NASA.

I lost the moon

while focused
on stepping off
my mother’s shoe

while adults
in sandpaper
conversations
in another state

scored over
until smooth
the planned
footsteps of heroes
I had yet to know

and said ‘no’

had you told me

by god I would have
learned to walk
that instant

and launched
off the shoe

and forced a footprint
in the fine grain
they had yet
to erase

had I known
what heroes do.

2 comments
  1. This is a really wonderful poem! I love “by god I would have/learned to walk/that instant” and “had I known/what heroes do.” Nice pacing, too.
    Fictional Planet

    • Thanks so much!! Thrilled that you like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

