Fund Planetary

Our solar system.  Image credit: NASA. Congress is currently considering NASA's FY14 budget.  Support planetary sciences by contacting your congressman or congresswoman or tweet your support to #fundPlanetary.

Our solar system. Image credit: NASA.
Congress is currently considering NASA’s FY14 budget. Support planetary sciences funding by contacting your congressman or congresswoman or tweet your support to #fundPlanetary.

I want it back

that jar full of quarters
I earned from chores

protected from a brother
under penalty of DEATH

so I could buy
that toy
waiting on the shelf.

I want it back

and you can have
that Mickey Mouse magician toy
its hands too slow
and always revealing
the trick.

I know what I want
from the jar now

will barter and beg

for what grade school teachers
hawked to us in science class

the only advertising
painted foam ball planets run through with wire rings

the real wares
we were told
further out
and suspended
magically

have to see it to believe it!
no wires!

and no sleight of hand necessary.

Yeah, I’m saving my jar for that.

1 comment

Leave a comment