3 comments
  1. this photograph

    was said to be a huge influence

    on van gogh’s painting

    starry night

    • I’m really glad you pointed this fact out to me because I wasn’t aware! Lockyer’s book didn’t attribute the illustrations to anyone so I didn’t realize they were by Lord Rosse. As I look closely at the inset drawing in my poem, it is slightly different from the Whirlpool Galaxy drawing that served as Van Gogh’s inspiration (note the dot at the center). Still the drawing is definitely Rosse. Thanks for making this connection for me!

  2. Good Morning: M51! My favorite Messier Object! Good job, as always. Vonn Scott Bair

Leave a Reply

